Review: Take Me There: Trans and Genderqueer Erotica edited by Tristan Taormino

Specs:
Type: Book
Publisher: Cleis Press
Price: $14.95

As a FTM, I can’t tell you how excited I was when Tristan Taormino’s Take Me There: Trans and Genderqueer Erotica appeared on the Babeland review list. I immediately scooped it up!

Take Me There is a collection of 29 stories, published by Cleis Press and edited by Tristan Taormino. Within the 29 stories, you read about the many sexual and gender identities of transgender and genderqueer people. Each story allows the reader to see how differently gendered people and their sex partners identify with their bodies. Take Me There shows that body parts aren’t always as they seem, have various names according to the individual and may not coincide with what “mainstream society” allocates them as.

Some stories involve fetishes, fisting, sex toys and BDSM. Others simply just involve the individuals given or surgically enhanced body parts. Each author has a different style of writing. Some write their stories as a confession, others use a more poetic approach and some are short prose writings. All the stories make up a wonderful collection of erotica about transgender and genderqueer folks!

I read every story with excitement because here is a book about people like ME!! Each story spole to me on some level though some more than others. Of course, I could more easily relate to the male identified characters but the female identified characters were just as fascinating!

Many of these stories were very short and for me, that is slight drawback as I need some build up. Some stories were able to accomplish the build up quickly, as was the case in Sinclair Sexsmith’s “The Hitchhiker”, while others seemed to jump right into the sex.

My favorite story from this collection is the very last one…”Best gifts in Small Boxes: A Christmas Story” by Patrick Califia. This is a story of finding acceptance where one craves it but least expects it. I immediately identified with Owen, an FTM rejected by his hometown, though he identifies as gay and I do not. I easily identified with his feelings. This story was the longest and gave me the build up I desire. A story that includes many emotions from sadness to longing to elation and impending grief, it’s a budding love story in the truest sense of the word.

At the end of the book there is a section about the authors. It includes a brief write up of each writer. Also, there is a piece about the editor, Tristan Taormino, that includes the books she’s written and other facts of her professional career.

I’ve always been a fan of Tristan Taormino’s. I have many of her lesbian erotica collections on my bookshelves and have always enjoyed the stories she chooses to include. Tristan Taormino has a passion to defy gender and it shows in her taking on a collection of trans and genderqueer erotica.

I can’t recommend Take Me There enough! It’s a wonderful read for anyone who doesn’t identify with the gender binary and also for other’s who are desiring erotica about those who don’t conform to the body they were born with. Passion resonates though out this entire book and I hope Tristan Taormino continues to put together more trans and genderqueer erotica collections!

**This product was provided by Babeland free of charge in exchange for my honest opinion**

About smokebelly

I'm just your average 32 year old guy with one exception..I was born with a female body. Yes folks, I'm a Female-to-Male transgender person. I started socially transitioning in 2008 and on December 28, 2010, I started my medical transition through Hormone Replacement Therapy (HRT): I take testosterone. I've never felt more my true self in my whole life...I finally feel ALIVE!!! I enjoy reading. Some of my favorite authors include Patricia Cornwell, Tess Gerritsen and Lisa Scottoline. One of my all-time favorite books is "The Leather Daddy and The Femme" by Carol Queen. It's an amazing story of a genderbending dyke who loves Leather Dadddies. Filled with queerness, kink, BDSM, and love. I like psychological thriller movies such as The Hannibal Lector series but I have to say my favorite movie is Strangeland about a sadistic internet predator who brings a world of torture to his victims. A very interesting look at something that could truly happen. I have a wonderful man in my life. He is a 2.5 years old Chihuahua named Samson. He loves to give everyone high fives! Samson is my little cuddlebug and is so much fun to have! Topics that interest me: gender, sex, kink, philosophy, religion, tattoos, piercings, the LGBTQ community, and many more. I may discuss these topics and they are always MY feelings and opinions. Happy reading!!

Posted on February 26, 2012, in FTM, Queer, Reviews, Sex Toy Reviews, Transgender and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Tristan Taormino is awesome!

    By the way, thanks so much for adding me to your blogroll! I appreciate it! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

